Lan Yu Island - Taiwan

One of the islands of Taiwan. Taiwan, also known as Formosa, is the island province of China and, since the Communist victory in 1949 on the Chinese mainland, the seat of the government of the Republic of China. It is separated from the Chinese mainland by the Taiwan (Formosa) Strait and is bordered on the north by the East China Sea, on the east by the Pacific Ocean, and on the south by the South China Sea. In addition to the island of Taiwan, the country includes the P'enghu Islands, or Pescadores, the small Quemoy Islands off the mainland city of Amoy (Xiamen), and the Matsu group off Fuzhou (Foochow). The People's Republic of China also claims Taiwan as one of its provinces.